"A Better Shot", LLC is committed to providing the best educational program available anywhere. Trainers will always argue and disagree about what should or should not be covered in a curriculum. Some trainers pound their chests and proudly declare, "I don't pass anyone without spending at least 22 hours with them because 16 hours required by the Illinois State Police (ISP) just isn't enough." Yet, none of these trainers would say that 22 hours is enough. Those accepting the responsibility of carrying firearms MUST dedicate themselves to a lifetime of learning and practice!!!
The Illinois Legislature and ISP have carefully outlined what they consider sufficient as minimal standards for citizens desiring to carry concealed handguns. Those attending all 16 required hours while demonstrating all requisite safety and shooting skills will pass and receive their certificate allowing them to apply for their Concealed Carry Licence (CCL) in Illinois. Be aware, however, that no amount of training or certification will allow you to receive a CCL if you are not eligible for any other reason according to the ISP and the background check it performs. "A Better Shot", LLC offers its services to everyone with the understanding that only those who meet all ISP standards can expect to receive their CCL. We certify that our curriculum taught by ISP approved instructors (my ISP Instructor ID is #CCT16C328) meets all educational requirements of the ISP (Curriculum Approval #CCC16A0011). CCL applications refused for any other reason do not constitute a problem with or failure of our course.
Because our Curriculum and Instructor Credentials are with the ISP, we only offer Illinois recognized CCL training. HOWEVER, those desiring the greatest credentialling flexibility are encouraged to complete the "Blended" NRA Basic Pistol Instruction Training (Online NRA initial training with Phase II Training through "A Better Shot", LLC) or contact us about completing the NRA Instructor Led Basic Pistol Training Course. Some other states recognize Illinois credentials for their own training requirements; even more states recognize my NRA Teaching Credentials for their training requirements. Regardless, you are responsible for confirming what other states may or may not recognize our classes as we cannot guarantee what credentials each state will continue recognizing. The promised national reciprosity will alleviate any multi-state licensing issues if it is approved (Why does it make sense to ask "Which states am I licensed to carry in?" without also having to ask "Which states am I licensed to drive in?" or "Which states am I licensed to be married in?")
Attendance: Our commitment to quality education includes severely limiting class sizes. Your registration reserves your spot in specific classes and prevents us from offering that spot to others. We do not intentionally overbook our classes. While we will attempt to adjust our usual enrollment process for extenuating circumstances, once a class time is registered (payment must be received), THAT IS YOUR CLASS TIME AND SPOT!!! Anyone missing their registered class will receive notification of future classes held but they will not be assigned a new spot until 24 hours before a scheduled class that has surplus openings available unless you pay additional fees (currently $55) for a new scheduled class. All payments are considered final and no refunds are offered. Skipping a class for which you are registered forfeits all fees paid to reserve that place in a class.
All registrations must be completed by email (email@example.com) or in writing. Only preliminary registration can be made over the phone unless full payment is being made by credit/debit card at that time. Your return email from me (or credit/debit/card receipt) is your proof that you have a spot reserved for you in any particular class.
You are welcome to use one of our pistols for the qualification shoot (.22 semi-auto, double-action revolver, or single-action revolver; .380 semi-auto; 9mm compact or full size semi-auto; or .38/.357 double action revolver). The only charge for using my guns is to pay for the ammunition you use. NO ONE IS ALLOWED OUT OF THE RANGE WITH AMMUNITION I PROVIDE!!!! The additional ammunition charge for 30 rounds is as follows: .22 -- $3; .380 -- $15; 9mm -- $10; .38 or .357 -- $20. You are welcome to purchase ammunition from the range at which we conduct our qualification shoot.
We conduct qualification shoots at a local indoor shooting range (currently CY Armory). Through a special arrangement, we now offer additional live fire opportunity beyond the 30 rounds for qualification. Come prepared with additional ammunition or purchase additional ammunition at the range.
In summary, make sure you are eligible (check the ISP website) for CCL before registering for our class. Make sure you are free both training days for which you register (additional charges may be incurred if you change reservations). No firearms are required to take a class -- feel free to use one of ours for qualification. Those who have not yet applied for an Illinois FOID card are also welcome and eligible to take our CCL classes with the expectation that they will receive their FOID card when applying for their CCL.
I hope to see you in class soon!
Class Price List for 16 hours training ($10/person range fee paid at second class):
$175 per person for any regularly scheduled class with three or more registrations
$200 per person for a class organized on your schedule for any group of 3 or more
$400 per person for a private class
Class Price List for 8 hours training (must have DD214 or proof of other 8 hour exemption, $10/person range fee paid at class):
$125 per person for any regularly scheduled class with three or more registrations
$150 per person for any class organized on your schedule for any group of 3 or more
$200 per person for a private class
Class Price List for 3 hour CCL Renewal training (must provide proof of current CCL, $10/person range fee additional):
$75 per person for any regularly scheduled class with three or more registrations
$95 per person for a class organized on your schedule for any group of 3 or more
$125 per person for a private class.